2020 CAPA-ACAP Virtual Meeting

 

Dear CAPA-ACAP Members,

Save the date: Fall CAPA-ACAP Event November 4-6, 2020

Following a Town Hall Meeting on July 29, the Planning Committee met Monday August 10 to bring together ideas for a Fall 2020 Virtual CAPA-ACAP Event. Thanks to input from CAPA-ACAP Members, plans have coalesced around a 3-day meeting November 4-6 that will include a variety of synchronous and asynchronous content and activities. In addition to the scientific program, the event will incorporate an opening cocktail reception, a trivia event, an undergraduate-focused session, an EDI Workshop, and numerous other opportunities for scientific and social networking.

 

Stay tuned for calls for symposia and abstracts in the coming weeks. In the meantime, the Planning Committee continues to welcome new members. Feel free to reach out to either Laura or Tracey, or directly to the following individuals, who have generously offered to lead sub-groups working on various tasks:

Scientific Program – Mirjana Roksandic  m.roksandic@uwinnipeg.ca

Social Program – Madeleine Mant  maddy.mant@utoronto.ca

Professional Development and Student Program – Laure Spake  laure.spake@otago.ac.nz

Business Meeting – Lesley Harrington  l.harrington@ualberta.ca

Technical Platforms – Helen Kurki  hkurki@uvic.ca

 

If you have any questions about the planning process, or suggestions for ways to make the event more accessible to members, we welcome your input. We look forward to seeing you in November!

With kind regards,
Laure Spake [laure_spake@sfu.ca], CAPA-ACAP Student Representative, and PhD Candidate, Department of Archaeology, Simon Fraser University

Tracey Galloway [tracey.galloway@utoronto.ca], CAPA-ACAP Sustainability Subcommittee Member, and Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology, University of Toronto Mississauga